WordPress节日
2021年7月23

选择一种语言

词汇节现场现已结束

征集志愿者

志愿服务的许多好处中--除了回馈社会之外--还有对参与的满足感。

WordFest,既是社区的庆祝活动,也是WordPress的节日,正是我们的志愿者为活动的成功做出了贡献。

为什么一个虚拟活动需要志愿者?

这是个好问题。虽然这个活动是虚拟的,对支持的需求并不像实体的亲身活动那样,但仍然有很多角色需要填补。  

为什么是志愿者而不是带薪团队成员?

另一个很好的问题。WordFest Live没有付费的团队成员。 

因为它是由大橙心提供的,这是一个注册的慈善机构,依靠人们慷慨地捐赠他们的时间。 每个为该项目工作的人都在自愿奉献他们的时间。

通过该活动的赞助和捐款所筹集的所有资金都将用于进一步为远程工作社区提供免费的福利和心理健康支持。 

我们希望你选择在7月23日加入我们,成为WordFest Live团队的一员。

志愿者在WordFest现场的角色

  • 主持人 - 作为司仪,你将在整个活动中花时间在屏幕上,介绍会议,主持问答环节,并与团队一起享受乐趣。你需要有信心,如果我们有奇怪的技术问题,你可以填补空缺。

     

  • 绿室监视器 - 我们的演讲者将以不同的形式发表他们的演讲。有些人可能还没有在虚拟活动中出现过,所以我们的绿屋是一个与团队联系的空间,确保他们在直播前都准备好了。

     

  • 聊天管理员 - 公共聊天是与会者、发言人、赞助商、组织者和活动的其他利益相关者之间交流和互动的绝佳方式。但是,这种聊天需要注意和节制,不要出现不需要的和广告的内容。当与会者赞扬和感谢演讲者的演讲时,会有一些评论和反馈,可以帮助激励大家。此外,即时问答环节也会受到使用即时聊天提交的问题的影响。我们的聊天主持人将负责收集问题,包括值得注意的评论,并将其传递给A/V制作团队,在现场直播中显示,以便主持人能够识别它们,并最终由发言人回答。这个角色需要非常注意细节,你也可以期待在整个过程中学习到很多东西。

 

  • 图形设计师- 尽管WordFest是一个24小时的现场盛会,我们在活动前后都需要志愿者。我们欢迎图形设计师、运动摄影专家和视频编辑加入我们的团队,只要他们有能力。我们欢迎来自社区和其他地方的每一个贡献。你可以注册成为图形相关工作的志愿者,我们的支持团队将指导你完成这项工作。由于你的大部分时间将用于活动前的工作,所以要准备好尽早做出贡献。

 

  • 社区版主 - 我们的任务是在虚拟活动中实现行动自由 - 但我们必须为所有可能的情况做好准备。因此,我们需要那些乐于在活动过程中走动的人,并确保没有违反我们的行为准则。如果人们想报告任何问题,你也将是一个联络点。

     

  • 通讯 - 沟通团队处于这一切的中间位置,确保正确的信息能够传递给正确的人。市场营销、赞助商联络和技术支持之间会有交叉,确保我们在正确的时间强调正确的信息。

     

  • 业务 - 当我们将活动转移到网上时,在幕后,一切都在一系列的技术上运行,都需要保持正常运转。因此,运营志愿者将帮助维持活动的运行和我们服务器的正常运转。 我们正在寻找。

     

    • 适应命令行的人,并且有管理服务器和系统的经验。 
    • 如果事情真的出了问题,你将帮助识别和解决问题,所以要乐于钻研日志文件和排除故障。
    • 我们的网站使用Nginx/PHP-FPM和MySQL,因此需要对这个堆栈有基本的了解。
    • 我们有更多有趣的技术来运行聊天方面;具体来说,大部分是由Jitsi Meet提供的,这不是一个要求,但如果你有Jitsi的先前经验,我们真的可以在你的帮助下完成它。

       

  • A/V制片人 - 为了确保为与会者提供尽可能高质量的视觉和声音,我们需要志愿者来管理每个现场 "节目"。这个角色包括添加和删除司仪和发言人,使任何幻灯片出现和播放视频。这是一个 "幕后 "角色,因此不需要你上镜。

    有使用Streamyard、Restream、OBS或其他直播服务和简单的视频编辑的经验是一个真正的奖励。

     

    A/V制片人需要有信心在现场活动中做出快速决定。我们将使用对讲系统,例如Discord进行交流,所以你需要全程佩戴耳机,最好是硬接线,而不是WIFI,因为连接性对连续性至关重要。

该活动本身是一个完整的24小时,但不要担心;人们对你在整个活动中的表现没有期望。

事实上,为了你的幸福,我们将确保这种情况不会发生。

这次活动将分为6个大洲。澳大利亚、亚洲、非洲、欧洲、南美洲和北美洲。我们将在每个地区花费4个小时,我们要求每个志愿者至少承诺一个地区。 我们要求每位志愿者至少承诺一个地区。

志愿者的福利

你将获得的最大收获是成为WordFest Live的一部分的巨大成就感,但我们不会就此罢手。你将会在官方志愿者页面上出现,并在你的个人资料中获得一个可爱的虚拟 "志愿者 "徽章,以突出你的支持。 

而且我们还将为您提供大橙心团队提供的非常有限的特别版礼物。

认识志愿者支持团队

让我们听听我们出色的志愿者领导艾哈迈德-柴恩和我们的副手托菲尔-德罗西亚的意见,他们将能够给你提供你所需要的所有细节。

我的名字是Ahmed,我是Making WordPress Global Design的官方团队代表之一。我是达卡WordPress Meetup的一部分。我也是2021年俄亥俄州东北部WordCamp和2021年圣克拉里塔WordCamp的组织团队的一员。我是2020年WordPress无障碍日的组织者之一,这是一个专注于网络无障碍的24小时活动。在大流行期间,我加入了WEDU Global的导师,这是一个在东南亚范围内为妇女赋权的非政府组织。

还有,我的名字是Topher,我是志愿者副团长。我来自密歇根州的大急流城,在那里我在Camber Creative担任WordPress策略师。我还策划了HeroPress.com

作为一名志愿者,我们会照顾你,为你的问题以及你不确定的事情寻找答案,在有帮助的地方牵手,并确保志愿者团队的快乐,从而使WordFest Live获得成功,我们知道它将是成功的。

就像许多活动一样,是志愿者们帮助实现了这个奇迹。加入我们,使之成为所有WordPress的一个非常特别的庆祝活动。

注册成为志愿者

请注册您的兴趣,在我们的24小时包容性全球节日中担任志愿者。

The festival of WordPress
July 23, 2021

Call for Volunteers

Among many benefits of volunteering — aside from giving back to the community — is the feeling of satisfaction with your participation.

WordFest, being both a celebration of the community and the Festival of WordPress, it is our volunteers who contributed to the success of the event.

Why does a virtual event need volunteers?

That’s a great question. Although the event is virtual and the need for support isn’t quite at the same level as it would be for a physical in-person event, there are still plenty of roles to fill.  

Why volunteers and not paid team members?

Another great question. WordFest Live has no paid team members. 

As it is being delivered by Big Orange Heart, a registered charity that relies on the generosity of people donating their time. Everyone working on the project is volunteering their time.

All funds raised through sponsorship and donations through the event are being dedicated to the further delivery of free well-being and mental health support for the remote working community. 

We hope you choose to join us on July 23 as part of the WordFest Live team.

Volunteer Roles at WordFest Live

  • Emcees – as an Emcee, you’ll be spending time on screen through the event, introducing sessions, running Q&A sessions and generally having fun with the team. You’ll need to be confident you can fill a void if we have the odd technical issue.

     

  • Green Room Monitors – our speakers will be delivering their sessions in a variety of formats. Some may not have featured across a virtual event yet, so our Green Room is a space to connect with the team and ensure they’re all set and ready to go before they’re live.

     

  • Chat Moderators – The public chat is a great way to communicate and interact between attendees, speakers, sponsors, organizers and other stakeholders of the event. However, this chat requires attention and moderation from unwanted and advertisement content. As attendees praise and thank the speaker for their delivery there are comments and feedback that can help motivate everyone. Additionally, the Live Q/A session is influenced by the questions that are submitted using the Live chat. Our Chat Moderators will be responsible to collect the questions including the noteworthy comments to be passed on to the A/V production team to be displayed on the Live broadcast so that the Emcees can recognize them and eventually be answered by the speakers. Great attention to detail is required for this role and you can also expect to learn a lot throughout this experience.

 

  • Graphics Designers – Even though WordFest is a 24-hour Live extravaganza we need volunteers before and after the event. Graphics Designers, Motiongraphy Experts and Video Editors are welcome to join our team as they can. We welcome every single contribution from the community and beyond. You can sign up as a volunteer for graphics related work and our support team will guide you through it. Be prepared to contribute early since a good portion of your time will be devoted to pre-event work.

 

  • Community Moderators – our mission is to enable freedom of movement within a virtual event – but we have to be prepared for all eventualities. So we need people who are happy to move about over the course of the event and ensure there are no violations of our Code of Conduct. You’ll also be a point of call should people want to report any issues.

     

  • Communications – the Communications team sits in the middle of it all, ensuring that the right messages are hitting the right people. There will be a cross-over between marketing, sponsor liaison and technical support, ensuring we’re highlighting the right information, at the right time.

     

  • Operations – as we shift online with events, behind the scenes, everything is running on a range of technologies that all need to be kept ticking over. So operations volunteers will help keep the event running and our servers ticking over.  We are looking for:

     

    • People comfortable who are comfortable with the command line, and have experience managing servers and systems. 
    • If things do go wrong, you will be helping to identify and fix issues, so being happy to dive into log files and troubleshoot.
    • We use Nginx/PHP-FPM and MySQL for the site, and a basic understanding of this stack will be needed.
    • We have more interesting technology for running the chat aspects; specifically, most of it is powered by Jitsi Meet, it’s not a requirement but if you have prior experience with Jitsi we really could do it with your help.

       

  • A/V Producers – To ensure the visuals and sound as high quality as possible for the attendees, we need volunteers that will manage each live “show”. The role includes adding and removing Emcee and speakers, enabling any slides to appear and playing videos. This is a ‘behind-the-scenes’ role and as such will not require you to be on camera.

    Experience with Streamyard, Restream, OBS or other live streaming services and simple video editing is a real bonus.

     

    The A/V Producers will need to be confident in making quick decisions through a live event. We will be using a talkback system, for example, Discord to communicate, so you will need to be wearing headphones throughout and the preference is you are hard-wired, not wifi as connectivity is critical for continuity.

The event itself is a full 24-hour period but don’t worry; there are zero expectations that you’ll be across all of it.

In fact, we’ll be ensuring that this doesn’t happen for your own well-being.

The event will be divided into 6 continents: Australia, Asia, Africa, Europe, South America, and North America. We’ll spend 4 hours in each region and we are asking for a minimum commitment of one region per volunteer. 

Volunteers’ Benefits

The greatest thing you’ll walk away with is a massive sense of achievement in being part of WordFest Live in the making, but we won’t leave it at that. You’ll be featured in the official volunteers page, be given a lovely virtual ‘volunteer’ badge in your profile, to highlight your support. 

And we’ll also provide you with a very limited special edition gift from the Big Orange Heart team.

Meet the Volunteer Support Team

Let’s hear from our wonderful Volunteer Lead, Ahmed Chaion, and our Deputy, Topher DeRosia, who will be able to give you all the details you need.

My name is Ahmed and I am one of the Official Team Reps for Making WordPress Global Design. I am a part of the Dhaka WordPress Meetup. I am also part of the organizing team for WordCamp Northeast Ohio 2021 and WordCamp Santa Clarita 2021. I was one of the organizers of WordPress Accessibility Day 2020, a 24-hour event focusing on accessibility on the web. During the pandemic, I joined as a mentor at WEDU Global, an NGO that works for women empowerment within Southeast Asia.

And, My name is Topher, I’m the Deputy Volunteer lead. I’m from Grand Rapids, Michigan, where I work as a WordPress strategist at Camber Creative. I also curate HeroPress.com.

We’ll be looking after you, as a volunteer to find answers to your questions as well as anything you’re unsure about, holding hands where helpful and ensuring that the volunteer team is happy so that WordFest Live is the success we know it will be.

As with so many events, it’s the volunteers that help make the magic happen. Join us to make this a very special celebration of all things WordPress.

Register to Volunteer

Please register your interest to volunteer at our 24-hour inclusive global festival.

  • Your preferences (required)

  • Select all you would like to support
  • The number of hours you can volunteer your time for on the day of the event.
  • Social (optional)

    Please provide the full URL for each social media account you would like us to be aware of.
  • Additional information (optional)

  • Please provide any highlights of previous experience that may be relevant to supporting this role.
  • This is an opportunity to add any additional information you may feel is relevant or ask any questions you may have.